Major Indoor Soccer League (2002-present)

new-Major Indoor Soccer League logo



The new-Major Indoor Soccer League was founded after team owners in the National Professional Soccer League (founded as the American Indoor Soccer Association in 1984; the name change took place in 1990) disolved the league after the 2000-01 season. The new-MISL was founded as a single entity ownership group, with the former NPSL owners acting as "investor-operators" of teams in their paticular markets. All of the clubs playing in the new-MISL's first season came from the NPSL.


How the Sidekicks Got Here

The World Indoor Soccer League agreed to merge with the MISL on December 19, 2001. The teams listed on this page are members of the new MISL as of that date. The Sidekicks played their first game in the MISL on September 28, 2002, defeating the 2001 MISL Champion Philadelphia Kixx.


Sidekicks vs the new-MISL

Regular Season Record:


Playoff Record:


Overall new-MISL Record:



Deja Vu

While a number of the names of the Sidekicks new-MISL opponents will be familiar to long-time Sidekicks fans, only the new-Cleveland Force (formerly the Crunch) actually played in the original Major (Indoor) Soccer League. Baltimore, Cleveland, and Kansas City adopted the old MISL nicknames at differing points in their franchise history. St. Louis revived the Steamers nickname when the franchise was awarded in the WISL in 2000.


Scoring Rules

The new-MISL played games using the multi-point scoring system (same as it's NPSL/aisa forbearers) in the 2001-02 and 2002-03 seasons. Begining with the 2003-04 season, the league played under the traditional "goal-count" system used by every other Division One indoor league since the begining of the modern era of indoor soccer in 1974.

The 2002-03 season is the only season in club history where MPS statistics were used.


Opponents in the new-MISL:

Baltimore Blast (1993-present)

Cleveland Crunch logo

Baltimore Blast

Cleveland Force

Harrisburg Heat

Kansas City Comets logo

Milwaukee Wave, 2001-02 logo

Monterrey Fury logo

Kansas City Comets

Milwaukee Wave

La Furia de Monterrey

Philadelphia Kixx, 2001-02 logo

St. Louis Steamers logo, 2003-current

San Diego Sockers, 2001 logo

Philadelphia Kixx

St. Louis Steamers

San Diego Sockers